14
Nov
07

Low Maintainance Sabbath Feasting

Ideally, we would all have the time (and energy) to have a huge Sabbath. In my little family, we are very busy. Nothing unusual, Ben is a history teacher, I’m a housewife. You’d think I’d have the time to create a Thanksgiving meal every Sunday (or Saturday) in preparation for the Lord’s day, typically, I don’t! Isn’t it amazing how busy wives and moms are? Somewhere between domestic duties and domestic blessings, it seems like a lot of us run out of time. We still like to celebrate our day of rest, though. I think it is very important to make it special, extraordinary and celebratory. I’m here to say, that it is absolutely fantastic if you can execute a huge Sabbath feast, but if you don’t, relax, you’re not failing! Sometimes, it means Sabbath take out. Sometimes, it means visiting someone else’s home for dinner. Sometimes, it means leftovers. Sometimes it’s wine and cheese. As long as your sabbath is filled with laughter and fellowship, you are accomplishing a celebratory Sabbath. Last Sunday I documented the way we did Sabbath dinner. We all have cold/coughs and had a hectic week. Sunday rolled around and I hadn’t given a thought to meals. So we stopped by Trader Joes (for those of you who don’t have one, my deepest sympathy, it’s fabulous!) and bought what we needed to do this….

First things first, Ben put Miss Ophelia down for a nap after she ate a quick peanut butter and jelly to tide her over. I opened a bottle wine. Ben and I were both starving by the time we got home so I decided crostinis would be perfect to wet our appetites and keep us fueled and they are quick and easy to make. Slice up a baguette and top with your choice fresh herbs and cheese. I had dill and parsley on hand and we bought some Porter Irish Cheddar at TJ. Place on a cookie sheet and broil for a couple seconds.

If you forget about them, they will look like this….

After you make a second batch and take them out in time, they’d look something like this….

Ben is an absolute genius when it comes to mashed potatoes. He is our official mashed potato maker. No one said Sabbath meals need to me a one man show. Choose dishes that family members enjoy making and divvy up the chef work.

The boiling period of the mashed potatoes is a good time to get a little extra flavor in. Season the water with salt, herbs (we used thyme), and oil. And don’t skim on the butter when you mash them up. I can’t give you his secret recipe, but I can tell you, one of my favorite things. After he is finished seasoning and mashing, he transfers it all to an oven-safe bowl and broils for a couple seconds to brown the peaks. It adds some great texture and flavor.

For the meat portion of your meal, remember there aren’t any rules saying you can’t buy it pre-cooked. I found this nice rack (I just wanted to say that ;-)) at Trader Joes for $10.00. It is fully cooked and seasoned. All I had to do was heat it up. It tastes amazing, too!

We didn’t do any dessert, simply because we didn’t feel like it. But you could always pick up some ice cream, or cake mix, or even cookies from the bakery. Keep an eye out for ways to make your feast less stressful and, if need be, time consuming. Being fretful or exhausted will ruin anyone’s Sabbath. It doesn’t matter how long you spend in the kitchen, as long as everyone ends up looking like this
cimg2669.jpg cimg2667.jpg
you’ll know you’ve accomplished a wonderful Sabbath Feast!

5 Responses to “Low Maintainance Sabbath Feasting”


  1. 1 Betsy
    November 15, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    I really really wish we had a Trader Joes. *sigh* Is that porter Irish cheddar good? I think we tried a whiskey one, and we were pretty unimpressed. Well, I was unimpressed, Andrew may have liked it.

  2. November 15, 2007 at 12:30 pm

    I heard they were opening one in Spokane. The porter was amazing! Delish! I think I would have problems with whiskey cheese, too, not complementary enough.

  3. 3 Betsy
    November 15, 2007 at 12:48 pm

    Well that would just be too exciting! It might be worth the price of gas to go up there just for the Trader Joes… Rosauers is having their 13 hour wine and cheese sale today, so maybe I’ll see if I can pick up some of the porter cheddar there! If not, I know I can get it at the co-op…

  4. November 15, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    oh! I’m so jealous! We have to drive down to Virginia to buy wine. It costs SO much here! And they don’t sell at the market only at liquor stores :-(. Keep an eye out for smoked gouda. It’s amazing!

  5. 5 Betsy
    November 15, 2007 at 1:57 pm

    Wow! What a boring place to live! 😉 Gouda is my favorite. I love the aged gouda with the little crystalized bits in it – so tasty. I’m actually going to do a post on cheese plates here at some point. I think I’ll wait till our next cheese dinner though so that I can take pictures. Or, maybe I’ll just take pictures of what I buy today… hmmm…


Leave a Reply

Categories


