09
Nov
07

fun birthdays

My husband’s birthday is next Thursday, so that means that the next two weeks will be busy and fun. Having lots of family in the area means that birthday celebrations tend to drag on for weeks on end (one weekend here, one weekend there, you get the picture). Back when we were dating/engaged, I liked to make a big deal out of his birthday and celebrate it for the whole week before his birthday (kind of like a 12 days of Christmas thing, but instead its 7 days of Birthday). I don’t think I’ve done it every year that we’ve been married, but this year I opted to do it and so today was Day 1 of the birthday celebrations. I couldn’t tell you all before because, well, my husband pops in here occasionally and he might’ve seen what I was planning, but since Day 1’s gift has been given, I can let the cat out of the proverbial bag. So I give him some sort of gift everyday from now until his birthday, and they generally tend to get progressively better and better. I’m also going to try to make him his favorite dinners for the next week, which should add to the general air of festivity.

One great tradition that my husband brought into the marriage was the “Andrew-Day” present. Allow me to explain. On his birthday, I get one present. It’s kind of like party favors at little kid birthday parties. It can be simple (a CD or DVD I’ve been wanting), or a new sweatter, or a baby-sitter and movie-for-two. And then when my birthday rolls around, he gets one present. I think there are a lot of great things about this, and great reasons for it, but the biggest reason (I think) is just that my husband is a great guy. No, seriously. He’s the type of guy who feels just a little guilty on his birthday because he’s the one getting all the presents, and so he wants to spread the wealth. I knew very early on in our relationship that he was a giving and unselfish guy, but this fun tradition just took it to another level. What a great thing to teach our kids (the kids will get presents on eachother’s birthdays, from eachother), and a great way to teach them to think about others! Now, I’m a little ashamed to say this, but I don’t remember any of my past Andrew-day gifts (although I think one was a Norah Jones CD, correct me if I’m wrong, babe). One thing I do remember though is the year that Andrew brought me breakfast in bed on his birthday. He said that there couldn’t be a better day to do it. And that’s why I love him. Happy Birthday week, babe. You’re the best.

For those of you concerned citizens out there, I’ll try not to get mushy here every day for the next week. I just had to take the opportunity to brag on him a little.

0 Responses to “fun birthdays”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Categories


