06
Nov
07

Child Safety Harness?

In the past, it hasn’t been a problem, but recently O’s become quite mobile and independent. I’ve found that going shopping without an extra pair of hands and legs to chase around my 21 month old isn’t an option anymore. She absolutely refuses to sit in her stroller, she maintains that they are for babies.

Ordinarily, I’d think “Child Safety Harness” is just a nice turn of phrase for a baby leash and under normal circumstances, I would consider them a helper for lazy parents…except….we are flying from Maryland to Idaho for Christmas this year. I know we’ll be chasing Miss O all over the airport, which doesn’t bother me. My concern is the same as anyone else: that I turn my back for a second and my daughter disappears. So, I have to ask, is it alright to use one in these kinds of situations? I was thinking of getting one like this,

I’d prefer a kitty cat, because that is the animal O’s really into right now, but like to know your thoughts and impressions. I don’t like the idea of having my daughter on a leash, but I like the idea of someone snatching her less.

(I apologize if this is a bit disjointed, I’m a little dizzy from some medication my doctor has me on and it’s makes it a bit hard to think/type. Anyways….honestly, please?)

5 Responses to “Child Safety Harness?”


  1. 1 Betsy
    November 6, 2007 at 11:02 am

    I’ve always had the same sentiment – they’re for lazy parents. However, now that I have a toddler, they make complete sense. There are those times when B just does not want to sit in her stroller, and I think I’d rather have people think I’m lazy than think that I have the devil for a child. Another option that I’ve heard is using a baby back pack (like for hiking) in the airport. Not the easiest to transport after it’s used, but it’s a thought. That, or those really cool moby wraps (mobywrap.com). O is probably a bit too big to use it regularly, but for that short time around the airports it might do the trick (plus they’re just awesome – we’re definitely getting one for the next kiddo).

  2. November 6, 2007 at 11:57 am

    I have a sling similar to the moby wrap which I love, except that she’s getting to heavy to carry around anymore, plus — she wants to walk. 😉

  3. 3 Betsy
    November 6, 2007 at 12:34 pm

    Ah. Nevermind then. 🙂 Go for the leash!

  4. 4 swingerofbirches
    November 6, 2007 at 7:23 pm

    Well, I’m sure some folks do use leashes because they’re lazies, but I’m equally sure there are plenty who use them who are the most industrious folks on the planet! For what it’s worth, it seems to me that your motives for wanting to leash your sweetie are quite sound. She’s got nice strong legs and knows how to use them, and it would be downright dangerous to have her darting off in an airport. John’s mom has always told me that you just need to do what is best in a given set of circumstances and not feel bad about it! That little piece of advice has been really helpful for me.
    And I really like the little harness with the lamb on it. Or a kitty cat would work, too. They’re cute and fun and maybe O will get a kick out of feeling like she’s “in charge” of getting that little guy on the plane…who knows? Does she get excited when you make a big deal out of something new and special…as in, Look at this great new toy we got you for our plane ride!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 😉 Just my two cents from a new mom with an infant and not a toddler. 🙂 You’re doing great!


Leave a Reply

Categories


