30
Oct
07

Spice

My personal favorites are cinnamon, with curry as a close second. I love how warm and full they taste. They add depth. They add a hint of creativity and lots of personality. They are my signature spices.

Before I started exploring Mediterranean foods, it never occurred to me that spices could be used in such a variety of ways. I’m sure most of you have figured this out, but you can put cinnamon in almost anything. Spaghetti sauce, home-made salad dressing, stir fry, on slow cooking meats….my husband’s favorite it is to add it to fresh ground coffee before it is brewed. The smell is intoxicating and the extra flavor adds a nice little kick to your morning routine. Curry, similarly, can be added to the vast majority of casseroles, vegetable dishes, and pasta creations. If you haven’t already, I would encourage you to explore your favorite spice. Re-invent your favorite recipes with it. Your consumers will be asking what your secret is, I promise. 🙂

2 Responses to “Spice”


  1. 1 swingerofbirches
    October 30, 2007 at 7:16 am

    I just had to second the cinnamon in the coffee trick! Delicious, and such a nice extra little pick-me-up. One of my housemates in college introduced me to the tradition and I’ve been hooked ever since.

    I’m also second-ing your vote for cinnamon, and adding my vote for nutmeg. Especially during fall and winter. Delicious.

    Blessings!

  2. 2 Betsy
    October 30, 2007 at 8:45 am

    And I’ll second the vote for nutmeg. So tasty!


Leave a Reply

Categories


