19
Oct
07

Ironing

I have always been completely helpless when it comes to ironing dress shirts. My husband is a teacher and he wears them daily. I resolved to learn how to do a proper job of it and found this web video to be extremely helpful. In fact, this whole website offered a wealth of information*. The narrator has a delightful accent and there is a transcript for each How-To on the page so you can print it out for referencing later. Click here to view How to Iron a Shirt.


*I cannot vouch for how appropriate all of the information is (I did find a few questionable videos in the Love & Sex section). However the DIY/Home/Garden link seemed pretty safe.

5 Responses to “Ironing”


  1. 1 swingerofbirches
    October 19, 2007 at 12:18 pm

    Isn’t it nice to be able to see to such domesticities? I used to iron all of John’s shirts, and was quite glad to, but now that we’re in the big city all of the dry cleaning places take care of dress shirts for only 99 cents! Considering the time it takes me to iron them (John wears them every day, too) and how I’m kind of a crazy perfectionist about them, we decided my time was worth more than 99 cents… 😉

    And while we’re on ironing, does anyone else love yummy scented ironing sprays? Mrs. Meyer’s (of Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day fame) makes some brilliant non-toxic ones. Unfortunately I overdosed on my favorite scent early on while pregnant with L and now I cannot stand the smell… But they’re such a nice perky pick me up!

    I loved that you went off and found the right way to iron a shirt! That’s fantastic. I have been learning all manner of important details like this from the book “Home Comforts: The Art and Science of Keeping House”. Has anyone else heard of it? Her introductory defense of keeping a clean home is priceless. Plus I have been happy to learn the “right” way to do such things as ironing, launder-ing, cleaning stainless steel, the most efficient way to store leftovers, etc. One could certainly fall into a ditch while studying such subjects but for someone such as myself it has been most helpful.

    Blessings!

  2. 2 kyriosity
    October 19, 2007 at 3:30 pm

    That’s a great book. If I spent more time applying it than I have reading it, my house would look very different.

    (And happy birthday, Abra!!!)

  3. 3 rosearamma
    October 19, 2007 at 3:49 pm

    I also LOVE the book “Home Comforts”….it has answered many a question since we got married. With a toddler, I’m learning that even if my home isn’t tidy…it can be clean. 🙂 One of my big peeves with Martha Stewart is her simplicity and perfection throughout her home, yard & food which come to find out takes a whole staff to create. I find Real Simple to be a lot more practical for a mom with little ones. Ok, that was a little bit off of topic. 🙂 Anyway, I second the book recommendation.

    Happy Birthday Abra! Are you doing something special?

  4. 4 kyriosity
    October 19, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Moriah, what’s Real Simple?

  5. 5 rosearamma
    October 19, 2007 at 9:44 pm

    Valerie – It’s a magazine. http://www.realsimple.com They touch on food, organization, decor, fashion, product reviews, garden, holidays. I really enjoy it! Lots of practical tips. Many affordable recipes, home makeover projects, quick & easy holiday decor, etc.
    Plus, not only are their ideas affordable (for the most part) they’re also quite easy to accomplish. Too often I find ideas in other magazines that I start, but will get interrupted halfway through and then have to relearn the entire process to get it completed. I don’t have all day or week to make individual decorative pie slice boxes to send home my homemade pie for my holiday guests (my latest Martha chuckle).

    Do you have any favourite mags?


Leave a Reply

Categories


