17
Oct
07

Off the Cuff

Yesterday was a very sanctifying day for me. I ran around like a headless chicken and in doing so, realized that the chances of me having time to make dinner were slim to nil. I ended up throwing this haphazard casserole together throughout the course of the day and it ended up being a hit. It was the first time my toddler asked for seconds on wholesome food! Who knew!!

Ingredients:
3 frozen chicken breasts
chicken broth
8 oz of frozen mixed vegetables
16.5 oz jar Alfredo sauce
whole grain* pasta (I used penne, and just eyeballed how much my family would eat)
14.5 oz can diced tomatoes

Directions:
Throw your chicken in the slow cooker on high with the broth. Cook until cooked. Meanwhile, boil or nuke your veggies until defrosted and prepare the pasta. When chicken is done, drain (I just dumped out my broth, but i betcha could use it to cook the pasta in for extra flavor.) and cube it. Then return the chicken, veggies, & pasta into the crockpot and add your jar of alfredo sauce and your can if diced tomatoes. Mix it up and cook on medium or low until you’re ready to serve!
(Serves 6)

*a note on whole grain pasta. I’d never used it before, but I’m slowly trying to make our diet healthier. I always bought white before because it was cheaper and I didn’t know any different. I found it for 50 cents more last week and picked up a bag. Let me tell you, the taste is FAR superior to white pastas! Plus, it’s much, much better for your body.

3 Responses to “Off the Cuff”


  1. 1 Betsy
    October 17, 2007 at 11:24 am

    I love the “cook until cooked” part. Classic.

    I first started using whole grain pasta in our macaroni and cheese shortly after B was born. In my opinion, it doesn’t get any more comforting, or filling, than home made mac and cheese. Feeling guilty for downing a good 1000 calories with proportionally few nutrients in one sitting, I started using whole grain macaroni to try and justify the goodness. We actually couldn’t even tell the difference (which is good, because I snuck it in without telling my husband!)Yes, mac and cheese and Corona will always remind me of our little apartment with newborn little B. *sigh*

  2. 2 swingerofbirches
    October 18, 2007 at 9:35 am

    Whole grain pasta is the way to go…we love it. I know this may not be so helpful for Betsy, but we shop at Super Targer (oh so amazing!) and their whole grain pasta is only minimally more expensive and excellent quality. I just made the switch and we could not be more pleased.

    And Betsy, mac and cheese! John has had a long affection for the stuff. It’s fantastic. On several occasions we would be doing the grocery-ing (for a number of months after L was born John would come with me because the idea of shopping by myself with a newborn was too much! Blessed man!) and we would be trekking down that aisle and he would casually reach up and grab a box of Kraft and stick it in the cart! I would laugh and put it back and one day a nearby female shopper said “All men love mac and cheese, honey!” Anyhow, we’ve got the real deal (ie homemade) rotating through my menus now, much to the overjoyment of my husband.

  3. 3 swingerofbirches
    October 18, 2007 at 8:56 pm

    You know, Super Targer…


Leave a Reply

Categories


