10
Oct
07

crib bumpers?

Yesterday, my mother and father in law bought us this 4-1 convertible crib for my daughter’s Christmas present. I’ve never used a crib in my life (up until now, I’ve been using a playpen). I see the big sets of crib bedding in the store, but I can’t bring myself to spend $50+ on them. I have a sheet. What else do I need?

4 Responses to “crib bumpers?”


  1. 1 Betsy
    October 10, 2007 at 8:35 am

    Actually, I don’t think you need the bumper set anymore. We took B’s out when she was about a year old. I think I read that the bumper sets are really just there for the tiny ones so they don’t bonk when they’re learning to roll around and stuff. There’s my two cents. 🙂

  2. 2 swingerofbirches
    October 10, 2007 at 9:20 am

    What a lovely crib! I suspect Ophelia will get a kick out of rattling around in it, if I do say so myself. Great question about the bedding. We use a mattress cover and then the fitted sheet over that as usual. We don’t use any blankets as Lizzie is still too little (6 mo.)–we dress her in jammies that are warm enough and keep the vents closed in her room so that the air conditioning doesn’t freeze her out. (We’re still getting 80+ degree days!) I agree with Betsy that it doesn’t seem like you’ll need a bumper for O. We use one for Lizzie because otherwise she’d be getting arms and legs stuck and bumping her head with some frequency, but Ophelia is way past that stage. Anyway, it seems to me that as long as you’ve got the fitted sheet you could simply continue with O’s favorite blanket (or whatever she likes to sleep with!) and be in good shape.
    As far as expense is concerned, we registered for Lizzie’s crib sheet set and were very generously graced with it at my shower, but it is shocking that these tiny little sheets and blankets and bumpers end up costing more than regular sheets for a queen sized bed! Anyway, just my opinions. Blessings!

  3. October 10, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    I had no idea! It’s good to know I don’t have to buy anything else. I found a bright red sateen sheet at Burlington for $8.00 the other day. It will match great in our chocolate/orange/red and white scheme we’ve got going on in her room. I was having a wretched time finding bumpers to match.

    We are planning on only using the actual crib-crib for a few months until Ophelia is old enough to understand that she needs to stay in bed. Then we’ll convert it over to a toddler bed (maybe next summer). Thank you for all the info. It’s SO helpful!

  4. 4 Betsy
    October 12, 2007 at 4:28 pm

    By the way, that’s a really cute crib. And I LOVE the bright red sateen sheet. B’s crib was $20 or something like that at a yard sale (we bought it when I was 7 weeks pregnant – we were really excited), and it’s definitely an older one. Whenever the next one arrives, we’re planning on making a little trundle bed for B that can be rolled under the crib during the day (since we’ll probably still only have two bedrooms then). I’d love to get a new crib then. Someday!


Leave a Reply

Categories


