08
Oct
07

paper flowers

I’d like to state at the outset that I am not a scrapbooker. I don’t do that. If I did, I would have piles of pretty paper, and no scrapbooks to show for it. I do wish that I could get most of those papers in fabrics, because I think some lovely quilts could be made. Anyways. So, I try to make things that I find a little more useful. I make flowers and cards. I invested in those fun craft punches at Michaels, and now I make these fun little flowers, and I sometimes put them on cards. The paper and brads together cost about 15 cents max per card, as opposed to the $3.99 you’d pay at Hallmark (I can say that because I used to work at Hallmark). Here’s some of the little gift cards, with a candle for scale.
flower-cards.JPG

Here’s a bunch of little purple and yellow flowers.
flowers.JPG

I was lacking color on one of the shelves in my kitchen this summer, so I spray painted some dogwood twigs white and attached my first attempts at these paper flowers. Paired with a red teapot my mom gave me for my birthday this year, I think they really add a pop to the wall.
img_3564.JPG

P.S. – if you think these are kitschy, I’m sorry for you. I think they’re cute.

5 Responses to “paper flowers”


  1. October 8, 2007 at 6:39 pm

    those are lovely! I wish I had the patience for that kind of thing! Mom C. bought me a sewing machine (off my wishlist) for my birthday and helped me pick out a simple pattern and fabric. I used to sew a little bit with my mom when I was 10 or 11. I’m going to attempt to make a half apron and some much needed hot pads. I’ll keep you posted as to my progress. 😉 Should be interesting!

  2. 2 Betsy
    October 9, 2007 at 10:46 am

    Thanks! You’re so sweet! Actually, I generally don’t have the patience for this sort of thing either… or at least I don’t have the attention span. Fortunately though, I have a problem sitting and doing nothing while I watch TV, so I generally do this sort of stuff then. It makes a mess on the coffee table and Andrew can’t put his feet up on the table, but it makes me feel a little more productive. I’m looking forward to seeing your apron! I’m going to whip out the machine today too and make a new duvet cover – purple velvet! Time for fall!

  3. October 10, 2007 at 3:24 am

    oooh! Velvet it my favorite! Once I designed (and commissioned) a formal made of purple velvet. I’m calling you if I get stuck with my apron!


Leave a Reply

Categories


