05
Oct
07

Consider the Oyster

Mary Francis Kennedy Fisher is certainly on my top 5 authors of all time. If you’re not familiar with her, well, you should be. She is one of the few writers I have found to not only inspire, encourage and instruct me in culinary philosophy, but to just downright make me hungry! Fisher has written over 20 books plus two volumes of journals and correspondence. I have every intention of reading all of them (just not before bed, because it makes my tummy roar with discontentment.) Since we are into the fall season, I will encourage you to start with this masterpiece. I was never a fan of seafood. Especially the squishy kind. That is, until I read Consider the Oyster. It is a short (76 pages), affordable, educational (“He is a she.”) and absolutely delightful read. She covers the basic science of the thing, myths, mouth watering recipes, and anecdotes to capture the attention of the most ADD reader among us.

“Then love was the pearl of his oyster,
And Venus rose red out of wine.”
-Dolores, C.A. Swinburne

3 Responses to “Consider the Oyster”


  1. 1 Betsy
    October 5, 2007 at 11:33 am

    This looks like fun, although I’m a little afraid of what it will do to my monthly food budget… 😉

  2. October 5, 2007 at 12:54 pm

    Yes, that has been my dilemma, as well. I’m thinking for the holidays, maybe…

  3. 3 shannonh
    October 5, 2007 at 1:50 pm

    Hey Ladies,
    I wanted to mention that dear MFK Fisher actually writes quite a bit about cooking on a budget. She wrote for a great number of women durring the World Wars and although some of it is kinda funny (i.e. you don’t really need to serve 4-5 course dinners every night for your family)some of it was encouraging and helpful. I totally agre with you Abra, she is a fantastic writer and a real joy to read. I’d add Mr Capon’s Super of the Lamb as my other fav foodie writer of all time. Much Love, Shannon


Leave a Reply

Categories


