19
Oct
07

ironing spray

Naomi touched on something in the comments that I wanted to mention anyway, so I’ll take the opportunity and do it now!

First, a little insight into my insanity. Back when I was young (I’m speaking of my latter teenage years) I started to develop a sense of style and a bit of an obsession with making my corner of the house (my room)look perfect. I had the perfectly made bed, the shelf with a few antique books and a silver julep cup of fresh flowers, and matching candles in matching candle holders. In the evenings, I would light the candles, put on some music (I think the favorite of the time was Ella Fitzgerald and Louis Armstrong), and dream about the day when I would have a house and it would look that perfect and there would be a husband to come walking through the door (the only way it could’ve gotten more idealistic is if I had actually posed myself for a J. W. Waterhouse painting). Yikes. Anyway.

In my search for perfection, I used to iron my pillowcases. Now I’m not saying that ironing your pillowcases is wrong, I’m just laughing at how much time I had back then. Again, I digress. I discovered that it was quite easy to make your own ironing spray. I’ve always loved the scent of lavender (I had it spread down the aisles at our wedding) and so I put just a few drops of lavender essential oil in my spray bottle to use when I ironed my pillowcases. It worked wonderfully! Didn’t stain or discolor or anything. And, it’s quite thrifty. $5 or so for a little 1 or 2 ounce bottle of the oil will last forever. And it made my bed smell really really good. You could use any essential oil – eucalyptus, tea tree, sandalwood, rose, you name it. If you’re using it on your husband’s shirts though, you should probably avoid the rose and lavender. ;)

For your enjoyment, I add these images. I can’t look at them without smiling. They make me laugh at my former idealism, and thankful for the home I have and its way of shouting that I have a toddler. The first one makes me think of a trashy Victorian romance novel, and the second one, well, makes me wonder if the artist ever actually had kids (because no mother I know would ever use lace like that in a newborn’s cradle).
builduphusband2.jpg
gse_multipart70413-1.jpg

4 Responses to “ironing spray”


  1. 1 swingerofbirches
    October 19, 2007 at 2:18 pm

    Great stories! Thanks for the post. I really appreciated the info about making your own ironing spray! Genius. It sounds much more economical than purchasing. Any suggestions as to where I might look to buy essential oils? I’m sure they’re here in this town somewhere; I’m just not sure where to start. (Whole Foods? Central Market?)
    I also am thankful for your suggestions as to the various and sundry scents one may use. Lavender was my super super favorite, but since I kept lavender-ing things up during my first trimester it is now forever associated with feeling sick! So I’m working on finding a new pet. :-)

  2. October 19, 2007 at 2:22 pm

    I wouldn’t feel too bad about this…most high school girls I knew went through a Waterhouse/Dicksee phase (I’ve got “The Tempest” floating around somewhere at my parents’ house…).

    The ironing spray suggestion is a really good one.

  3. 3 Betsy
    October 19, 2007 at 2:29 pm

    Naomi – I got my essential oil at the Co-op years ago, and I’m sure you could find it at any such store. Bath and Body Works used to sell some too (but I think they got out of that).

    Paula – I’ve got “The Accolade” by E. B. Leighton rolled up somewhere. Still makes me laugh. :)

  4. October 19, 2007 at 4:12 pm

    Naomi: I know that Whole Foods has them (I LOVE that place!) and they are also available here http://www.iherb.com/ProductsList.aspx?c=1&cid=2097

    Betsy: I, too, went through a large pre-raphaelite phase. My favorite being, ironically, Ophelia by Millais. Thanks for the tip. I think I will pick up some Rose or Sandalwood.


Leave a Reply

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

